NJ Rideshare Accident Attorneys Stand Up for Victims
Rideshare accident lawyers in Ridgewood serving Northern New Jersey
Rideshare services, such as Uber and Lyft, have revolutionized transportation. But their popularity has put countless additional cars on the road, which in turn increases the possibility of traffic accidents. If you are injured in an accident while in a rideshare vehicle or because a negligent rideshare driver causes a collision with your car, you may be entitled to substantial compensation. At Seigel Law, our experienced auto accident attorneys help victims of rideshare accidents in the Bergen, Passaic, Essex, and Hudson County areas. For more than 45 years, we have helped accident victims recover the full compensation they deserve.
What should you do if you are injured in an accident while riding in an Uber or Lyft vehicle?
If you have suffered an injury in a rideshare accident, you may wonder whether New Jersey’s no-fault insurance laws limit your right to seek damages. Fortunately, the New Jersey Legislature enacted specific laws in 2016 to cover these types of motor vehicle accidents. You are not required to file claims under your own personal injury protection (PIP) plan first. Instead, you can file directly with the rideshare insurance company.
New Jersey law requires rideshare drivers to carry the following levels of insurance coverage, depending on the status of the vehicle:
- Passenger in vehicle — An Uber or Lyft driver is required to have insurance of up to $1.5 million in bodily injury, property damage or death coverage, as well as $10,000 worth of medical coverage.
- On call or traveling to passenger — If the driver has the Uber or Lyft app operating, which means the driver is accepting passengers or driving towards a rendezvous, he or she is required to carry $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person, $100,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident and $25,000 worth of property damage coverage.
- App turned off — In this status, the driver is not actively seeking work, so the applicable insurance would be the driver’s own personal insurance policy.
If you were a passenger in the car at the time of the accident, your case falls under the first instance. Where Uber and Lyft are concerned, you can be confident that the driver is insured. But you still need to take these steps:
- Get medical attention at once.
- Take photos to document the scene of the accident.
- Get contact information for drivers involved and any witnesses.
- Ask the responding police officers where you can get an accident report.
It is also critically important to contact an experienced auto accident attorney who can represent your interests in pursuing your claim with the insurer.
What should you do if you get into an accident with a negligent Uber or Lyft driver?
New Jersey law allows you to file your claim directly with the rideshare driver’s insurance company rather than having to claim against your no-fault PIP coverage. Of course, how much insurance is available will depend on whether the driver was actually working for the rideshare company at the time. But before you even concern yourself with the question of insurance, you must follow the steps outlined above.
Why you need a lawyer for your rideshare accident
While it’s reassuring to know insurance is available, that doesn’t mean the insurer will be eager to pay. Your claim is likely to face determined opposition. To recover what you truly deserve, you need effective representation from a qualified New Jersey auto accident law firm.
Contact a skillful North Jersey attorney for a free rideshare accident consultation
Located in Ridgewood, Seigel Law represents victims of auto accidents involving Uber, Lyft and other rideshare companies. We serve clients throughout North Jersey, including Bergen, Passaic, Essex and Hudson counties. Please call 201-444-4000 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.