Choose a location to review

Palmisano Law Group locations:

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Gold is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 6 reviews, with an average score of 4.2 or higher.

Local Ratings & Reviews (25)

Showing 4-star reviews and above

Overall Average Rating

Overall Reviews

4.6/5.0
Our reviews are compiled from our profiles on the legal directories Lawyers.com and Avvo.com, as well as other trusted sources of consumer feedback.

Site Rating Reviews by date
lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2023-03-01

Roland Ernst is very well versed in several areas of law. I required his services for a family law matter on several occasions. He is not your run of the mill attorney. He is very intelligent, thorough, and considerate of the emotional taxation matters like these can cause. He is willing to answer questions in a timely manner and is patient when you need clarification of the law or just plain do not understand. You will most definitely receive solid legal advice from a professional and respectful attorney. I will use his services again should the need arise, which in family law seems inevitable. Best attorney in the area!

— Client 03/01/2023

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2021-12-17

Roland was the attorney for my 2.5 year review of my divorce decree. My first attorney knew divorce law well, however was not very good with unusual circumstances and understanding financials. Roland was an excellent listener and took the time to understand and empathize with what was important to me in outcomes. He not only understood the law, but could see the areas where we could negotiate with my ex and her lawyer. He confidently told me what we had control over and what we could influence. He was very good at educating me on the law and preparing me to have realistic expectations for outcomes. In the end, Roland negotiated a deal for me through a very difficult ex and created a financial solution that everyone was willing to accept. The solution was better than what I had expected and still met the needs of my ex. I couldn't recommend Roland any more highly.

— Client 12/17/2021

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2021-10-07

Jennifer Clancy has represented me several times over the last couple of years, her up to date knowledge of Illnois family law added together with her determination has resulted in favorable court decisons, i highly recemmend Jennifer and the Palmisano law group .

— Client 10/07/2021

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2019-05-02

I came to Roland in high stress Order of Protection situation. I already had the OOP in place but the other party was attempting to have it modified. Roland explained everything from the beginning and never made any promises he couldn’t keep. The counsel I received with Roland was so worth the money and I would hire him over and over again if I needed to. He knows the laws and knows how to explain those laws to help everything make sense. His counsel was so outstanding the other party ended up backing down before the judge. I am so grateful I found Roland and would definitely recommend him to anyone needing an attorney.

— Client 05/02/2019

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-20

Divorce can be one of the most challenging times in your life. Roland set realistic expectations from the very beginning and executed superbly every step in the process. Not only was Roland my attorney, he became a coach, counselor and kept me grounded throughout the difficult judicial process. He is highly regarded amongst his peers which I discovered was invaluable. His tenacity and attention to detail made for a successful outcome in my situation. I am so glad Roland was on my team versus the other side.

— Client 01/20/2019

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-20

Roland Ernst has handled 3 post divorce issues for me. He was recommended to me by 3 different friends who had glowing comments about their experiences. Communication was timely and thorough. Mr. Ernst is an extremely skilled attorney and was instrumental for favorable resolutions to my issues. I always felt that Mr. Ernst explained issues to me in an easy to understand manner. Even though the issues were emotionally charged and financially based, Mr. Ernst kept the process on track to achieve the best possible outcomes. I am so grateful to have used his legal expertise.

— Client 10/20/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-26

Amazing attorney! Cared about my case and fought hard for me and my children. I will be forever grateful!

— Client 04/26/2017

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2016-11-04

Roland was extremely professional and proved to be a reliable source of strength when going through a divorce. I stated that I wanted things to be handled fairly from the beginning and unfortunately the other side does not always play by the same rules. In the end, fairness prevailed and in large part due to Roland's guidance. Not enough good things can be said about Roland as he helped me through this difficult transition!

— Client 11/04/2016

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2016-09-08

Roland handled my case amazingly. I was close to giving in as emotionally, it was taxing. Roland explained to me why I was going through the process and assisting me in the right direction. He cares but is tough when needs to be. Thank you Roland for everything.

— Client 09/08/2016

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-19

If you are looking for a divorce attorney I'm so sorry you are facing such a difficult situation however, if you hire Roland he will help make it as painless as possible. Roland returned my calls the same day, he prepared the documents exactly the way he said he would and his billing never surprised me.

— Client 08/19/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-05

Roland Ernst is very well versed in several areas of law. I required his services for a family law matter on several occasions. He is not your run of the mill attorney. He is very intelligent, thorough, and considerate of the emotional taxation matters like these can cause. He is willing to answer questions in a timely manner and is patient when you need clarification of the law or just plain do not understand. You will most definitely receive solid legal advice from a professional and respectful attorney. I will use his services again should the need arise, which in family law seems inevitable. Best attorney in the area!

— Client 08/05/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-05

When a person is in need of a lawyer, it's often a difficult time for that individual. That is why it is so important to find a lawyer you can trust, who has knowledge about the law, who responds in a timely manner, and is sensitive to your needs and emotions. I personally depended on Roland to guide me through important decisions that were in the best interest of my children. I highly recommend Roland Ernst to anyone who wants a lawyer who puts his clients first. Roland has strength, knowledge, perseverance and personal commitment.

— Client 08/05/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-31

I was introduced to Roland through a mutual friend, in 2000, while going through a difficult divorce. He began by dispatching with the ineffective lawyer who'd been mishandling my case. He then applied his knowledge of the law to get me a just and equitable settlement of marital property, and handling of child care and medical expenses, and visitation. He assisted me in thinking my way through difficult decisions that promoted the best outcomes for my very young children. In 2003, when my son was diagnosed with developmental disabilities, he helped me navigate the Due Process procedures with my local school district, who had refused to provide my boy with the appropriate support he needed in the public school system. When I remarried in 2006, Roland wrote my prenuptial agreement, to protect my assets. Shortly after my 2nd marriage, my new husbands ex-wife began threatening us and my children. Roland supported us with an emergency order of protection. In 2010, when the public school district completely failed my son, Roland, again, applied his expertise in assisting our family with the conflict resolution proceedings. The following year, he worked closely with our education advocate, and helped us obtain a private placement in a therapeutic day school, where my son is excelling in ways we never imagined possible. When my ex-husband took me back to court, in 2013 to get his child support reduced, Roland negotiated an agreement that protected my daughter's interests regarding college tuition, books, and living and transportation expenses. Always, Roland's first priority is what is in the best interest of his client. For my family, every endeavor for which we have sought legal advice and action, those interests have been served by his keen legal mind, his ethical application of skill, and his compassionate heart. I would - without reservation - recommend Roland Ernst.

— Client 07/31/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-31

Quality representation - very knowledgeable in all areas of Family Law. Billing is extremely reasonable and very detailed. Roland cuts to the heart of the matter and makes every attempt to avoid the "chafe" that is too often introduced into family law litigation. I trust Roland.

— Client 07/31/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-30

Four years ago my children were abducted by my ex-wife and her live in boyfriend. I had retained Mr Ernst to represent me and my children. Throughout the lengthy court proceedings Mr Ernst was prepared, professional and compassionate. Mr Ernst exhausted every legal resource to ensure that my children were returned safely to Chicago. As a result of Mr Ernst' intelligence, tenacity and genuine concern for the well being of my children they live with me full-time and are thriving. Mr Ernst never wavered in his pursuit to bring my children back to Chicago and placed in my parental care. After nearly two years of court hearings and having to respond to numerous motions filed by my ex-wife the courts acting in the best interest of my children granted me sole-custody, as a direct result of the hard work and drive of Mr Ernst. Both of my children and I owe a huge debt of gratitude to Mr Ernst for all of his hard work, dedication and compassion. It is because of him that we are a family today. I highly recommend Roland Ernst without reservation if you need a lawyer who not only knows the law, but has a deep and abiding concern for his clients and their families.

— Client 07/30/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-30

Roland is an outstanding divorce attorney. He handled my case from beginning to end with the same level of representation throughout. Roland went through the possibilities and costs associated as the process unfolded, there were never any surprises. Roland is smart, tough, realistic, ethical and above all else trustworthy. I consider him to be a friend and having said that, think it speaks for itself. Not many people emerge from close to two years of emotional, physical and mental stress claiming to have formed a freindship with counsel. Roland knows the law and negotiated a reasonable settlement in spite of the opposition being highly unreasonable at times. I know I hired the right attorney and would highly recommend him to anyone contemplating a divorce or separation.

— Client 07/30/2014

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2013-08-09

I am blessed to have him as my attorney. He is my 4th lawyer. The others have left me feeling abandoned, and broke with minimal results. Mr. Palmisano has great integrity and values. I witnessed him work hard to get a good result. He is aggressive and will not give up. I have seen the impossible become possible. Miracles do happen!

— Client 08/09/2013

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-15

Mr. Palmisano represented me in a complicated international divorce case. He provided me with options, sound advice and solutions. His knowledge of the legal system inspired confidence during a difficult period. His staff is timely and efficient as well as helpful and courteous. I have a divorce agreement I can live with largely due to the attorney skills and efforts of Mr. Palmisano. I would recommend Mr. Palmisano to anyone looking for the same successful outcome.

— Client 07/15/2012

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2012-04-10

Mr. Palmisano helped me and my children immensely. I had an extremely difficult case but Mr. Palmisano took it on and made sure that my children and I were taken care of. He is wonderful with kids and really cares about their welfare during a very tough situation. I could always reach him when I needed to, he always returned my phone calls and he explained the process so I understood step by step what was going to happen next. Even after my case was over, I still called him for advice!

— Client 04/10/2012

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2011-06-20

Mr. Palmisano went above and beyond the call of duty in representing me in two separate but unrelated matters. His attention to detail was very thorough, but what I was most impressed with was the personal concern he demonstrated along every step of the way. I highly recommend Mr. Palmisano to anyone looking for a skilled attorney whose dedication to his clients is unparalleled.

— Client 06/20/2011

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2010-10-06

Mr. Palmisano came highly recommended to me and he did a great job handling my very complicated divorce. He returned my phones calls and kept me focused on what was important for my child and I. He always took the time out to listen to me and what I felt was important even if it wasn't in the long run. I would recommend him to anyone who is going through a divorce and has children involved because he knows what he is talking about and will do his very best for you and your children.

— Client 10/06/2010

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2010-08-12

I have used his legal services on a number of occasions. He has always represented me to the highest standards. He was always prepared and always answered my questions right away. He always gave me the right advice and never over charged me for his services. I would recommend him to anyone who needed a good and honest lawyer.

— Client 08/12/2010

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2010-03-17

He never made me any promises, he responded to any questions I had, and he was easy to work with.

— Client 03/17/2010

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2009-12-09

Good communicator, up to date and strong advocate. I was happy to meet him and happy to recommend him.

— Client 12/09/2009

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2009-12-03

I was represented by another attorney prior to meeting Mr. Palmissano. After we had a consultation, I immediately retained his services as I knew he was an expert on family law. Despite my unique case he knew EVERY aspect of the law. Mr. Palmissano is amazing. He takes the time to talk to me, very fair about billing(despite his expertise),and knows family law inside and out! He has protected my daughter and me. Thanks Jim, I am eternally grateful for you. He is not only a lawyer but a gentleman.

— Client 12/03/2009