Rolla, MO Traffic Violations Attorneys Fight Tickets
Aggressive representation to reduce fines and preserve your license
Residents of South-Central Missouri are very dependent on their driver licenses for going to work or school, running household errands, and maintaining a social life. Losing your license due to a traffic violation can cause serious hardship, but even if you don’t lose your license, a moving violation can be very costly; a conviction can result in a stiff fine and trigger an increase in your auto insurance premiums. At Williams, Robinson, Rigler & Buschjost, P.C. in Rolla, our traffic defense attorneys believe you should fight every ticket. We are experienced criminal defense lawyers providing aggressive representation focused on defeating or reducing charges, fines and penalty points. We offer the experienced counsel you need to assert your rights and seek the best possible outcome under the facts of your case.
How the Missouri driver license point system works
Fines for moving violations vary by county, but penalty points are standard throughout the state. When you are convicted of a moving violation, the Department of Revenue adds points to your record. The number of points depends on the type of violation. Examples of point penalties include:
- Failing to stop for a school bus — 2 points
- Running a stop sign or red light — 2 points
- Speeding in violation of a municipal ordinance — 2 points
- Speeding in violation of a state law — 3 points
- Careless and imprudent driving — 4 points
- Knowingly allowing an unlicensed driver to drive — 4 points
- First offense DWI or DUI (drugs or alcohol) — 8 points
- Felony involving a motor vehicle — 12 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident in violation of state law — 12 points
- Obtaining a driver license by misrepresentation — 12 points
- Operating a vehicle with license suspended or revoked — 12 points
The Department of Revenue responds to the accumulations of penalty points as follows:
- Sends driver a point accumulation advisory letter — 4 points in 12 months
- Suspends license — 8 points in 18 months. A first suspension lasts 30 days, a second suspension is for 60 days, and a third or subsequent suspension is for 90 days.
- Revokes license — The department revokes licenses for 12 or more points in 12 months, 18 or more points in 24 months, or 24 or more points in 36 months. Revocation in all cases is for one year.
The process to reinstate your license after a suspension or revocation varies depending on the reason for the loss of your license. Your specific violations, whether alcohol was involved, whether there was an accident, and other factors determine the amount of your reinstatement fee and other procedural requirements. When your driving privileges are reinstated after a suspension or revocation, the Department of Revenue reduces your point total to 4.
The department drops points from your license with extended periods of good driving. Every year you drive without accumulating new points triggers a reduction:
- One year – Total points reduced by one-third
- Two years – Points reduced by one-half
- Three years – Points reduced to zero
However, most traffic convictions remain on your Missouri driving record permanently.
With all these negative consequences, it only makes sense to fight your traffic ticket. You can’t do it alone, but an experienced and determined criminal defense lawyer can greatly increase your chances of a favorable outcome.
For aggressive defense representation for your traffic violation, call our Rolla law firm today
Williams, Robinson, Rigler & Buschjost, P.C. in Rolla represents drivers throughout South-Central Missouri who’ve been cited for traffic violations. To schedule an appointment to discuss your ticket, call 573-458-5200 or contact us online.